Posted by: cranky | July 21, 2008

Samantha — My Little Angel

Samantha, another of my little angels, went to join her sister Nala this morning.  Sam was almost 12 1/2 years old.  She was a really good dog who loved people.  If she hadn’t met you before you immediately became her best friend.  Meeting new people was like giving her a treat.

Samanta, February 6, 1996 -- July 21, 2008

Samantha, February 6, 1996 -- July 21, 2008

She was a really good dog even when she was having ‘don’t-you-leave-me-alone issues’. The destruction included the stuff in the photo below as well as the living room carpet, part of the wall in the kitchen, a section of the vinyl flooring in the kitchen, a window sill in the living room, a flash for my 35 mm camera, and a plugged-in electrical cord that she yanked out of the outlet and chewed in half.  She and I came to an agreement; I would come home for lunch and she would stop chewing up stuff.

Sam liked water.  A lot.  Mix the water with dirt and you get this.

Sam was kind of fastidious.  She liked to be clean and to be groomed (except for the trimming of nails — she hated that).  Here she takes a shower after getting muddy.

For Samantha there was nothing better than going for a ride.  When I first got her I was told that she would try to sit in my lap as I was driving.  And that she would stare intently at the oncoming cars.  As the cars passed in the other direction, she would whip her head around to watch them disappear.  It was hilarious.

I suppose the one thing I will miss the most about Samantha is that she would be watching for me from the kitchen window.  Lucky me, the two young ones do the same thing.

Go find Nala, Sam!  I will love you for ever and ever, you were my very best friend.

Responses

  1. Cranky,
    My heart goes out to you. You put together a great tribute to your friend. I am glad you had the picts to share the memories.

  2. Oh Cranky, I’m so, so sorry. My heart is broken for you right now.

    Very nice tribute to your friend.

  3. Cranky, I’m so sorry. Wish I could hug you *for real*.

  4. What a lovely tribute to a lovely friend. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  5. Your post made me cry. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  6. Thank you all. Samantha was like a guardian angel. I woke up one night to find her and Nala staring into my face. I suspect that I had had some sort of minor medical emergency while asleep. God works in mysterious ways.

    She’s with her sister Nala now. As healthy as she was when she was one year old and chasing, but not catching, the squirrels she loved to run after with Nala at her side.

  7. I’m sorry for your loss, Cranky.

    I’m sure squirrels are provided in the happy hunting grounds.

  8. Damn. Very sorry Cranky. We get a lot of love from these sweet creatures, and it hurts like hell to let them go.

  9. I’m sorry for your loss, cranky. Your love for your dogs (and their love for you) is an awesome thing to behold.

    This post is a great memorial to your best friend.

    As sad as loss is, those reunions are something wonderful to look forward to in the hereafter.

    You have my deepest sympathies.

  10. One of the few occasions where a man is allowed to cry. It’s in the man rules.

  11. My biggest hope after I retired from the Air Force was to get a dog. I didn’t plan to get a dog until after but, as fortune would have it, I got Samantha when she was six months old about a year before I retired.

    God, but she loved chasing squirrels. She never caught one (birds were another matter) but she kept trying. Over the past year it had gotten harder and harder for her to walk and I only saw her break into a trot once during that time. About a month ago she saw a squirrel in a neighbor’s yard. Her head went down, her ears rose, her back straightened, and her tail flattened out. Just like the old days. Fortunately for both Sam and the squirell but mostly Sam, the squirrel spotted Samantha and ran off to climb a tree.

    As much as we love them, they love us a lot more. I could not let her suffer, she went quickly and quietly with my hand on her side. She was so sweet and loving.

  12. What a pretty girl! How can you not fall in love with a face like that. Add the unconditional love and you get a friend you’ll never forget. God bless the crankster house.

  13. So sorry Cranky, Mrs bmac and I send our deepest condolences, we feel your pain brother.

    I would say rescue another sweet doggie. Sam and Nala would like that, and it sure helps ease the pain.

  14. Cranky, you are an amazing doggie daddy and rescuer. Each animal gets a piece of our heart and is forever only theirs. I am glad that you have such a big heart to give to the ones who are gone, the ones who are here, and the ones still to come. You are in my prayers, my friend.

  15. I love this poem! Of course, it makes me cry too. It always reminds me how important we really are to our animals. Everyone needs to rescue if they are going to get an animal! There are so many fabulous dogs without homes! Gunner, Mikey, and Jessie are proof. Annie even knew exactly which yard to wander in to!

    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    The one you left at the pound;
    The one you had for ten months/years
    And no longer wanted around.
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    Did you know that he’s lost weight?
    Did you know he’s scared and depressed
    And seems to have lost all faith?
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    He had fleas and a little cold;
    Guess you don’t care what shape he’s in
    You abandoned him I am told.
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    Were you having a baby or moving away?
    Did you suddenly develop allergies,
    Or was there NO reason he couldn’t stay?
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    He doesn’t play or even eat much;
    I guess he’s very sad inside and
    It’ll take time for him to trust.
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    And here he is going to stay;
    He’s found his FOREVER home
    And a warm bed in which to lay.
    ******
    I adopted your pet today…
    And shall give him all that he will need
    – Patience, love, and security,
    So he can forget your selfish deed.
    ******
    Author unknown

  16. Mrs. bmac, you’re making me cry again. With Sam I know I did the right thing but it is so easy to doubt. This morning I prayed to God to please take care of my puppy girls.

    God did bless me with Jessie (thanks to you) and Annie thanks to divine providence.

  17. I am so sorry.

    I remember when you wrote about Nala leaving.

    The 2nd and 3rd pictures make me chuckle, especially the living room carpet. You are lucky to have the good sense to capture it in a photo to preserve that moment and be able to chuckle at it.

    You wrote a very fitting tribute to man’s best friend. You will be reunited with Nala & Sam some day. Count on it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

