Posted by: cranky | July 6, 2008

Misuse of the Preposition

On my 65th birthday, I got a gift certificate from my wife. The certificate paid for a visit to a shaman living on a nearby reservation who was rumored to have a wonderful cure for erectile dysfunction.

After being persuaded, I drove to the reservation, handed my ticket to the shaman, and wondered what I was in for. The old man slowly, methodically produced a potion, handed it to me, and with a grip on my shoulder, warned, ‘This is powerful medicine and it must be respected. You take only a teaspoonful and then say ‘1-2-3.’  When you do that, you will be longer and harder than you have ever been in your life and you can perform as long as you want.’

I was encouraged. As he walked away, I turned and asked, ‘How do I stop the medicine from working?’

‘Your partner must say ‘1-2-3-4,’ the shaman responded. ‘But when she does, the medicine will not work again until the next full moon. ‘

I was eager to see if it worked I went home, showered, shaved, took a spoonful of the medicine, and then invited my wife to join me in the bedroom.  When she came in, I took off my clothes and said, ‘1-2-3!’  Immediately, I was the manliest of men.

My wife was excited and began throwing off her clothes. And then she asked, ‘What was the 1-2-3 for?’

And that, boys and girls, is why we should never end our sentences with a preposition.

h/t JR.

Responses

  1. Hi new around town, just wanted to invite you come by my site to get a good laugh about being a team player.
    it’s http://www.drunkdreamer8.word press.com read my lastes post “Onk, Onk, here piggy”


Leave a Reply

Categories

