Posted by: cranky | May 24, 2008

In Memoriam

Senior Airman Michael Gies, my buddy, and Brigadier General Garryl Sipple, my boss and commander. 

Mike there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of you and I always see you watching out for me.  I miss bullshitting with you.  Almost thirty years later I still stop at gates going on base and talk to the SP manning the gate.  You’d be proud of these kids Mike, they’re good.  Truth be told Mike, they’re better than we were and we were pretty fucking good.

General, there aren’t many of your caliber.  Mike was an SP, you would have liked him.  Whenever I was asked what the traits of a good leader and officer were, I would describe you and how you would go out at oh-dark-thirty and sit with some young SP on some post where it would invariably be wet, cold, windy, and miserable (I think that describes just about every post I ever stood) and keep him company.  That little gesture inspired incredible loyalty, immense pride in being a Wolfhound, and led people to always do more than they thought possible.

I remember.  I will not forget you.

Responses

  1. Beautiful post, cranky.

  2. Very beautiful. Sorry about the loss of your friends.

  3. This is a great remembrance, crank.

    Your admiration and respect for these men is apparent.

    Thanks for sharing that with us.

  4. Nicely said, cranky.
    Remember all of our comrades departed. They gave all that we might be free.

  5. They were both great people. Mike always gave me shit even though I outranked him but it was always good natured. Kind of like having another younger brother who was really cool. I talked to him twice the day he died. I had an email from General Sipple’s son Mark a few years ago. I told him that I had a note to me from his dad that was just a thank you for some little job I did and it means the world to me.

  6. Master Chief, a phrase I once heard to describe the ultimate sacrifice:

    They gave away all of their tomorrows so you could have your today.

    I pray we are worthy of their sacrifice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

