Posted by: cranky | April 12, 2008

You Know What I Hate?

Preparing tax returns.  I hate them.  Pure hate them.

While I was in school, someone suggested I concentrate on tax as it would be a good accounting field to specialize in following graduation.

No fucking way.  One of my professors said that he sold his public accounting firm primarily because of tax returns.  Mostly he said he was tired of having his friends lie to him.

Well, early this afternoon I delivered the last return I will do this year.  And I have told the people I was doing returns for that I will not be doing returns in the future.  I really do hate tax returns.

Let me wish everyone a Happy Tax Day in advance.

Responses

  1. Cranky, I’m glad you’re finished with them.

    Ahem, we need you here: http://thewickedpinto.wordpress.com/2008/04/12/chad-vader-sings/#comment-22233

  2. I’m glad you’re done with that crap, crank.

    Thanks for making me cry with the MACRS comment.

    There is nothing less funny than depreciation schedules which is why your comment was so fucking hilarious.

  3. I was about to throw down with some double declining balance depreciation or the ever popular sum-of-the-years-digits depreciation rules but, you know, moderation in all things.

    But if you really want to bring the funneh, just start talking about Non-profit and Governmental Accounting. A fucking laugh riot that shit is.

  4. double declining balance depreciation or the ever popular sum-of-the-years-digits depreciation

    I have a degree in accounting so that brings back a lot of memories, all bad.

    *BARF*

  5. My Non-profit and Governmental Accounting class began at 9 p.m. After a full day at work and two prior classes I was in no mood, and not physically capable of paying attention at that late hour. I dropped it and picked it up the next semsester.

    The text book, Accounting for Governmental and Nonprofit Entities, Wilson, Kattelus, and Hay, 12th edition sucked rocks too. Looking at the cover of the text book now, which shows a photograph of the U.S. Capitol. Oddly, the flag is at half staff. Perhaps they were mourning the students who had to use this text book.

    Maybe we could get together and write a book: Amortization for Dummies.

  6. Perhaps they were mourning the students who had to use this text book.

    Hahaha!

    I ended up with 5 years of college, a degree in accounting and a degree in finance.

    It was early in my senior year at some upper level cost accounting class….it’s maybe the third day of class…and the thought occured to me that if I have to do this shit for a living, I’m going to end up in a clock tower with a rifle.

    I only needed 3 more accounting classes to get the degree so I just added finance and a year. I hated every fucking minute of accounting so I feel your pain.

    Maybe we could get together and write a book: Amortization for Dummies.

    You’ll have to be in charge of all the actual accounting. I can help with the profanity and pictures of boobs. Friggin’ BEST SELLER!!!1

  7. But you got through Intermediate Accounting. You know how someone becomes a Finance major? They fail Intermediate Accounting.

    I got lost at Advanced Financial Accounting, which I suppose largely dealt with equity accounting for consolidated entities. Professor I had was not good. My next to last accounting course but I managed to pass. It was a yawner.

    I know quite a few people who changed majors from accounting after they had met all the degree requirements. I enjoy working in an environment that has consistent rules and accounting is nothing if not rules.

    Boobs! Steamboat always has good boobs on view.

  8. I enjoy working in an environment that has consistent rules and accounting is nothing if not rules.

    Very true.

    I like that as well up to a point. Up to the point where I work out a long case study with 1,000 ledger entries and at the end, my debits and credits are off by $27.

    My answer at that point is to write a check for $27.


Leave a Reply

Categories

