Posted by: cranky | January 19, 2008

Cranberry Orange Bread

Pajamma Momma asked me to post this last week and I apologize for only now getting around to writing it up for those who are dieting.  😆  This recipe is from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook (c) 1981, page 78.  I leave out the nuts.  PattyAnn of The Hostages suggested I take a wooden skewer and poke holes in the loaf so the glaze can seep down into the bread.  If sohos shows up, not that she’s ever been here, she’ll tell you that her’s are bigger, that reference is a WickedPinto t*ts drive hits tactic.  This recipe has passed Jessie’s sniff and taste tests (she pulled some wrapped slices down from the countertop) — bad doggie!  Tastes good though, doesn’t it?

cranberry-orange-bread.jpg 

Ingredients:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

3 Medium oranges

1 beaten egg

2 tablespoons cooking oil

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup coarsely chopped fresh or frozen cranberries

1/2 cup chopped walnuts — I leave these out but what the heck

1 cup sifted powdered sugar (this is an excessive amount of sugar I found, maybe half this amount)

Finely shred peel from 1 orange; reserve peel.  Squeeze juice from all oranges.  Measure 3/4 cup of the juice; reserve remaining orange juice.

In a mixing bowl combine the  3/4 cup orange juice, 1 teaspoon of the shredded orange peel, egg, and cooking oil.  In another mixing bowl, stir together flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.  Add orange juice mixture to the dry ingredients; stir just till moistened.  Fold in chopped cranberries (and walnut is you’re using nuts in your version of this recipe).

Turn batter into one lightly greased 8x4x2-inch loaf pan or three 6x3x2-inch loaf pans.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 50 to 60 minutes for a large pan (30 to 40 minutes for smaller pans) or till a wooden pick inserted near center comes out clean.  Cool bread 10 minutes in pan; remove from pan.  Cool thoroughly on a wire rack.

For glaze, stir 1 tablespoon of the reserved orange juice into powdered sugar.  Add more orange juice to make of drizzling consistency.  Drizzle glaze atop cooled loaves; garnish with reserved shredded orange peel.

Then enjoy.

Responses

  1. Oh it looks very good. Too funny that’s it’s Better Homes & Gardens. I love their old books.

    We were just talking about the BHG’s books a couple months ago on Innocent Bystanders except we were accidentally calling it Betty Crocker and mesa was making fun of us for it because apparently Betty Crocker’s cook books leave much to be desired. And then we realized we really meant BHGs.

    I actually went on e-bay to get one because I wanted this certain chicken recipe from 1981. Wouldn’t you know it, I used it so much it got loose from the bindings and I lost thestupid …………………..wait a minute. I just scrolled up and saw that’s the exact year. hold on I’m gonna go look at the recipe’s name.

    Oven Fried Chicken Monterrey page 297. You’ve gotta try it. I don’t have that one anymore. *sniff*

    Did any of that make sense?

  2. Mine are bigger

  3. LMAO!!!!

  4. I can’t believe I was so focused on the cranberry bread that I didn’t notice the pooch. too funny

  5. I wish I had made some of this this morning.

    It’s snowing!1!!!!!

  6. Snow? Aren’t you in Alabama? Or does it snow there?

  7. The last time it snowed here (that left any noticeable trace in Montgomery) was in March of 1997, the year I retired from the Air Force. It is the only time, prior to today, that Samantha has seen snow.

  8. PJM, do you want me to write up the recipe from page 297? I looked, it is on that page. Can you use Frito’s? Cause that recipe looks easy and delicious so I’d like to try it but use chicken tenders or chicken breasts instead of thighs.

    Sometimes I make this Campbell’s Lemon Chicken Supper Bake that is really simple and tastes really good. I think I’ll make a crock pot pot roast tomorrow along with some dinner rolls. And apple pie. And cranberry orange bread. And I’m planning on waffles and sausage for breakfast.

    Sorry if I’m torturing you because of your diet. Well, almost time for my reheated pizza (pepperoni and pineapple). Goodness, I am mean.

    😆

  9. OH good God cranky ***faints, gets up looking for keys and map to get back to Alabama***

  10. Notices map on the side of blog will use that…

  11. 😆 Eat something, sohos. Set a spell.

    Can you get decent sweet tea in Texas? I think I drink sweet tea 9 months out of the year at home. If I go out to eat then it is always sweet tea year round. BBQ is different in Texas (I was stationed at Dyess AFB in Abilene from 1975 – 1977) being mostly brisket it seemed and here it seems to mostly be pork, ribs or pulled pork. People in Abilene really treated the military folks well. People in Montgomery are the same way.

    One of those markers on the map is Sam’s BBQ which is less than a half mile as the crow flies from my house. Depending on the wind I can smell the smoke at my house sometimes and driving by it can be sweet torture.

  12. man that does sound like heaven. Most of the tea here is unsweet unless you are at a BBQ joint. My SIL lived in Birmingham for a spell and that is what she misses most is the sweet tea. We cook pork ribs at home b/c they are better and you really c’aint get them when you go out it’s mostly beef everything.

  13. PJM, do you want me to write up the recipe from page 297? I looked, it is on that page.

    Please?!?!?!?!?! It’s called oven fried chicken monterrey, er sumpin like that. It’s very rich but it’s delicious!

    I beg of you!

  14. Mmm, bbq.

    A good old boy from Texas got stranded way up North like me and opened up a bbq joint in downtown Detroit.

    There are a lot of folks here from Mississippi and Alabama, but they seem to have lost their roots — boiled ribs, no smoke on the pork.

    But, the guy from Texas who is a classically trained chef decided that we needed the real thing. God bless him. I hit his place about once a month, since we have an abundance of apple wood he mixes that with a little hickory. It adds a bit of sweetness to the smoke. I always get his brisket as it is fall apart tender with a wonderful bark. The ribs are always good and I got a half slab of those as well. But, the special of the night was smoked and then fried catfish. F-ing ridiculous. I think I ate about a pound of meat and almost as much catfish.

    Food coma and then time spent with good friends at the Gaelic League watching Irish old timers dance the jig while downing a few good ales- a good night.

    Except for the cold — it’s downright frigid. One of those nights where your nose hairs freeze.

    I need the warm and the beach. And hotties to bring me umbrella drinks.

    Someday.

  15. Nothing beats good fried catfish

  16. Food coma and then time spent with good friends at the Gaelic League watching Irish old timers dance the jig while downing a few good ales- a good night.

    That sound like a night I would love.


Leave a Reply

Categories

