Posted by: cranky | January 11, 2008

Potato Bread Recipe

Because pajamma momma asked, and we always do what momma asks, here is a recipe for potato bread from Masser Potato Farms that I’ve modified.

Ingredients

1 Masser potato — I use a couple of medium sized potatoes, peeled and diced

1-1/2 cups water — I use at least twice as much

2 packages of active dry yeast (.25 ounce each)

6-1/2 cups all purpose flour

3 tablespoons shortening sugar

2 tablespoons of shortening (melt some lard, it tastes better than vegetable oil)

1 tablespoon salt

2 tablespoons all purpose flour — I don’t do this step

Cook potato cubes until tender, don’t drain.  Cool to 110 degrees F.  Set aside 1/2 cup (Make it a whole cup of potato water).  Add some quick cooking oatmeal, maybe 1/2 cup, and a couple tablespoons of butter.  Let it sit for a minute and then mash it up.  Add enough warm water, if necessary, to give you two cups of potato mixture.

In a large mixing bowl, sprinkle the yeast on the reserved potato water.  I always throw a pinch of sugar and some honey in the bowl before adding the water and then the yeast.  Don’t bruise the yeast (don’t stir it with a spoon).  Let it dissolve and it will begin to form bubbles.  That is the sign that you are good to go!  Add the mashed potato mixture, 2 cups of the flour, the sugar, shortening, and salt.  Beat with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds, scraping the sides of the bowl.  Beat for 3 minutes at high speed.  Stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can mix in by hand.  Good exercise.

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface.  Knead in enough of the remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough.  Sometimes my dough is still pretty wet at this point (too much potato water I guess) but I don’t go overboard with the flour even if I have used all that the recipe calls for.  Judgment call on your part.  Knead the dough until it is smooth and elastic.  Place in a greased bowl and turn once to grease the surface.  Cover with a clean dish cloth rinsed in hot water and squeezed to remove excess water.  Place in a draft free spot, the oven works for me.  Turn on the light in the oven and that will keep it a good temperature to promote the rising of the bread.  Let it rise until it has doubled in bulk.  About an hour.

Punch down the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface.  Divide the dough in half.  Cover and let it rest for 10 minutes.  Shape each half into a loaf and place in greased loaf pans.  Cover and let rise until nearly double.  Before baking you can brush the tops of the loaves with water and dust with flour.  Personal preference.  I don’t do that but you can make an egg white and a tablespoon of water mixture and brush the loaves with that and you’ll get a shiny topped loaf.  Or just take a sharp knife cut shallow criss crosses on the top.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes.  If you are using dark loaf pans you can reduce the temperature to 350 degrees and bake for the same amount of time.  Remove and cool.  Makes great sandwiches, toast, and french toast.

Cranky’s Potato Bread

Responses

  1. That looks very delicious. You think I could use lard instead of shortening? Prolly right?

  2. One more thing, how much sugar?

    Thank you so much for typing this recipe for me!!

  3. fritos! Is there a frito bread recipe?

    Anybody have a charro bean recipe?

  4. I fixed it.

    It was 3 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of shortening. I would just melt the lard and use 2 tablespoons of that instead of vegetable oil. Probably tastes better.

    I love Fritos but I don’t know of any Fritos bread recipe. I crunch them, or even regular potato chips up, and put them in tuna salad sandwiches. And they’re on the side of almost any sandwich I make except for PBJ or grilled cheese.

    Charro beans? Is that a variation of the Coochi Coochi bean?

  5. wow…this looks good. I can almost smell the waft of ass through my computer.

  6. Alone&14, does your underwear sport those yellow smoking stains due to those special dreams that make your mom hope you soon meet Rosie Palm?

  7. Charro beans? Is that a variation of the Coochi Coochi bean?

    hahahaha, that was cute

  8. Is this becoming a food blog?
    Cause I got a couple recipes myself.
    Well, not really, but I know how to BBQ a perfect filet mignon.
    And I can make a pretty kick ass chicken parmesian.

  9. Actually, it has become a kind hearted torture blog.

  10. Actually, it has become a kind hearted torture blog

    Wonder if McCain would even approve of that kind of torture.

    So I got my potatoes today and I already have the other ingredients, I’m very excited. I’m going to make it tomorrow.

    Maybe I’ll post it as food pron on my blog tomorrow.

    Not sure how pretty it will be with my kids helping me, but I’m certain it will taste darn good.

  11. Pictures please PJM. Good food is good therapy I think.

    Whenever I make that recipe if I think it looks too dry I add some water, too wet I add some flour. I guess there’s a happy medium but I haven’t found it yet and still the bread has always tasted great.

    Johnny Mac wouldn’t like the torture aspect of this ‘Happy Homemaker’, as NiceDeb put it, blog but then I don’t really care for his please-like-me politics. He’s likable but his policies on free speech, campaign finance reform, treatment of unlawful combatants, illegal immigration, and border security ensure that he will never get my vote.

  12. Hahaha, cranky. Did you know Charo is one of the finest flamenco guitarists in the world? Did you know she speaks Spanish, English, French, Italian, and Japanese fluently? She may be cuchi-cuchi but she’s not bimbo.
    And no, charro beans have 2 rrrrrrrrrrs 🙂 It’s a bean soup made from pinto beans, onion, garlic, diced tomatoes, jalapenos, and cilantro. Delicious with hot flour tortillas.

    “Maybe I’ll post it as food pron on my blog tomorrow.”
    PJ, cross-post it at hostages too just to piss rosetta off.

  13. He’s likable

    *gag*spit. I find nothing likeable about that man.

    PJ, cross-post it at hostages too just to piss rosetta off.

    Excellent idea PA!

  14. Likable? Cranky is likable, him not so much.

  15. I’m thinking about pie. A month or so ago I saw a thing on Food Network with Paula Deen about making pie crust. I’ve always followed recipes that used lard for the crust. She uses butter and ice water. I probably need to try that.

    I knew Charro was a great guitarist. I didn’t realize she was that accomplished. The bimbo thing I always thought was just an act but it is a shame that it isn’t more well known how well rounded she is intellectually [no pun intended]. I have a hard enough time with English let alone a second language.

    That bean soup sound delicious. I may want to try that myself.

  16. Cranky, Loretta Lynn swears by butter-flavor Crisco. My grandmother used hand-churned butter and ice water, too, and her pies were the best I’ve ever had.

    The cilantro in that bean soup is NOT optional—I think that’s what gives it the special flavor. Try you some, I think you’ll love it.

  17. My mom does the ice water thing as well. she’s a crisco fan, I am a lard fan

  18. 1 Masser potato — I use a couple of medium sized potatoes, peeled and diced

    Ooooops! I bought two bags of potatoes.

  19. Well, they make great mashed potatos too! The home made bread isn’t as yellow as the store bought variety. I guess they put food dye into the store bought bread.

    I just delivered a Cranberry Orange Nut Bread hold the nuts loaf to my neighbor. Took pictures but guess which picture I forgot to take? Yep, the final one with the sugar glaze and orange peel garnish. Looked pretty good and I didn’t even get a taste.

  20. […] stuffed with feta cheese and sundried tomatoes and followed up with a nice hunk of cranky’s potato bread, ok maybe two. Cranky didn’t actually make this bread, he supplied the recipe. He makes too […]

  21. […] cold outside and I  had a fruit smoothie, which then made me cold. I kept passing that potato bread in the kitchen. Oh what I wouldn’t give for some hot vanilla chai tea and a hunk of that […]

  22. […] great because he was so excited to share his favorite recipe with me. Oh and I can’t forget cranky’s potato bread for my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

