Posted by: cranky | November 3, 2007

Satellite Spotting

Besides the cooler weather Fall brings it also brings some lower humidity and clear night skys to my part of Alabama.  Tuesday morning at 0610 local I saw a satellite, the first I’ve seen in months, passing west of Montgomery from south to north at approximately 75 degrees above the horizon.

You can get real time information on the satellites passing over your home at the NASA well forget that, the JAVA tracking applet there crashed my system.  It may have had something to do with the time change.  It had already made the change to my local time before that change is even official.  Anyway, another cool site, requiring registration, is Heavens Above.  You set yourself up and then select your location on the face of planet Earth. 

Another apparition in the night sky is Comet Holmes, visible with the naked eye (not mine, I needed my binoculars) in the northeast sky.  Find Pleiades (The Seven Sisters) , turn your head about halfway to your left shoulder, and raise your head a bit.  A fuzzy spot, amazingly large, is clearly visible to me through my binoculars.  NASA’s Astronomy Picture of the Day for October 26, 2007 gives you an idea of where Comet Holmes is located in the night sky.

The night sky is the universe’s history lesson of what happened millions of years ago and reaffirms my belief in God.  Too beautiful and complex to have been created by anyone other than God.

Responses

  1. Saturday morning before dawn I was outside and saw Mercury, Venus, Saturn, and Mars. Include the moon, and the planet I was standing on at the time, and that’s six planets.

    Check out the interactive sky map at Sky&Telescope online.

  2. Cranky, the only satellites I saw today was some of the passes Tom Brady threw to Mr. Moss, Welker, and Stallworth. The Pats kicked ass today. Hope you enjoyed the game! Go Red Sox, Go Patriots!

  3. Touché. You must have caught my comment at Ace’s post on SuperBowl 41 1/2.

    I’ll admit to being frustrated by Boston’s sustained success in professional sports over the past 5 to 10 years. Haven’t seen it from the teams I root for. Three passes over 20-yards on the Colts defense this year and then Brady throws a 55-yarder. As soon as the announcers say that kind of shit you know something bad is about to happen. Randy-freaking Moss and his one-handed grabs. Just for stuff like that I do hope the Pats win it all this year because Moss deserves a ring and the Patriots are just that much better than any other team in the league.

    Friend of mine said something about the Pats getting point spreads like some college teams.

  4. […] wrote: Cranky, the only satellites I saw today was some of the passes Tom Brady threw to Mr. Moss, Welker, and Stallworth. The Pats kicked ass today. Hope you enjoyed the game! Go […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

