Posted by: cranky | October 31, 2007

American Locomotive

I remember the fantastic train set that my grandfather built for me when I was a kid in the 1950s.  A mountain with a tunnel for the train to pass through, towns with houses and trees.  It was really fascinating, a labor of love that, as a kid, I did not adequately appreciate the effort and thought that he put into creating this thing that stirred my imagination.  Although I haven’t ridden a passenger train for more than 25 years, I still dream of one day taking a train tour of the West; Colorado, Utah, north to Idaho and back through Montana and Wyoming.

union-pacific-locomotive-10-30-2007-copyright-jje3.jpg

This locomotive was leading a really long, long train through Montgomery shortly before noon on October 30, 2007.  Love the flag.  It is something uniquely American to do, a pride of being and a thankfulness for the gift and privilege of living in this land.

God bless America.

Responses

  1. Nice.

    My four year old looooves trains. All boys do, don’t they?

  2. Deb, Duluth Trading company has a cedar train whistle that I just bought. Bigger than it looks in the catalog and sounds just like a train whistle. Just $9.50 and no, I don’t get a commission. Pretty neat, my dogs don’t know what to make of it.

    Looking at trains is just like looking at planes for me. I cannot not look at them and then wonder where they’ve been and where they’re headed.

    PS. Dogs is plural since I adopted a Golden Retriever/Lab mix from the humane shelter on Sunday so Samantha will have some company. Her name is Jessie and she’s a chewer but so sweet I can’t get mad — I just have to train her.

  3. Yes Deb, cuz trains are cool. They’re huge and they’re loud. That’s all it takes for boys.

    I love trains. I tell you, if I’m lying in bed or reading a book late at night, and I hear a far off train blowing the horn at a crossing, just barely audible, it gives me a good feeling. Hard to explain. It’s just a good thing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

